“You Only Limit Your Impact On The World By The Limits You Place On Yourself”

Hello All!

First of all, those wise words were spoken by author and agvocate Michele Payn – I can’t take credit for the brilliance that is that sentence.  Secondly, I am so sorry for taking so long to write another post. I’ve been in such a whirlwind!

Long story short, I got offered a new job and have accepted, went to Wisconsin for a week to train, and moved closer to the lab where I now work. And boy, do I love my job.

I loved milking the cows at the dairy in my hometown, I loved the daily interaction with the gals and the calves, as well as the fantastic people I worked for. I also learned such a great deal from the wonderful people that  I learned from in my role as an independent nutrition consultant for Agri-Nutrition Consulting. But in my heart, I knew I wanted to be in a job that challenged me, made me grow, and one that I could make my greatest impact with my personal strengths in the agricultural industry. And I think that job just dropped into my lap.  The hardest part is that I would have to move away from my family again, and thus cause my boyfriend and I to have a long distance relationship again. But, the joy I feel in my heart and the glowing enthusiasm I have with every day tells me I made the right choice.

And that is where this quote I think fits in perfect.  I heard it on a podcast I was listening to where Michele was being interviewed about two months ago, and I knew I wanted to remember this quote, so I recorded myself saying it. I believe that sometimes, whether you are ready or not, life opens doors for you and you have to make the choice to go through.  And, in my experience, there aren’t many decisions in life, especially larger ones, that don’t come with cons to go along with the pros. This is where I have found that unless there is a blaring red flag that tells you you shouldn’t take it, sometimes you just have to take a deep breath, trust those who love you and will support you through anything, and take the jump. When you start looking, the most successful people have taken a big leap of faith at some point in their life, and that it may not have always been gravy to go through.

So, what am I doing now? I am Rock River Laboratory – Ohio’s Nutrition Analytic Consultant. My main responsibilities include ensuring the satisfaction of our customers and adding value to their experience with us when I can.  I will also be traveling to meet with prospective customers to show them the wonderful offerings Rock River can provide.

So, what does Rock River Laboratory do? We are based out of Watertown, Wisconsin with satellite locations in California, Ohio, New York, Chile, Brazil, Argentina, and Germany.  We are an agricultural analysis laboratory that can analyze soils, plant tissues, feeds, forages, and manure.  Bottom line, as our Animal Nutrition, Research,  and Innovations Director explains, “We sell the nutrition facts on your Cheerios box.” In the feeds and forages department, we take the different types of foods dairy cattle nutritionists (like I used to be) want to put together to make the cows’ meal, and we test them to get an accurate prediction of how much of each nutrient is in that feed to be sure our bovine gals get the most out of their breakfasts! I think this is so cool and fascinating, I can’t help but be ecstatic about the fact that I get to be a part of such a great company!

And one of the best parts? It gives me more topics to share with you all as I move into yet another perspective of the agricultural industry! I am back in my hometown for the weekend, so for now I am going to sign off and joy a wonderful dinner with my family before heading back to start an exciting new week!

Here’s a few pictures from my weekend home – the awesome BBQ joint on the lake, and a glass of wine I enjoyed in celebration of my first week with my BBQ dinner!

Have a great week and I challenge you to be on the look out for life’s opportunities!

 

❤ Meg

Leave a Reply

