The Dreaded R Word: Resume

Well, I’m not sure about you all, but one of adulthood’s most painful tasks to me is updating/revamping my resume.  Seriously, it elicits a tantrum that could rival a teething toddler inside my head.  I save all of mine on Google drive and currently my “Cover Letters and Resumes” file has 71 files in it.  Yep, I’ve done a resume/cover letter that many times for job applications.  Not that I necessarily do any major work each time, but I tailor my resume to each job application.

In college, it seemed like at least once a semester I had a professor who would invite our college’s career guru to do a speech.  And, given it was the same guy, it was the same speech.  Every.  Time.  Then, my senior year, before I sent out resume after resume, I went to the university’s resource center to work one-on-one with someone on my resume.

So, here I am, sharing my resume tips with you all in hopes it may lessen your pain in the process.  Take note, the creative and artsy fields may have different guidelines for their resumes, these tips are meant  for the other fields.

First off we will start with the general tips.

  • Stay consistent – however you choose to format your resume, keep that formatting all the way through, from section to section
  • Simple fonts like Times New Roman or Arial – nothing too crazy
  • Typically stay in 10 – 12 point  font
  • List your previous jobs, etc in descending order – present first followed by next most recent and so on.

Now, here’s my tips to make your resume really pop.  I can honestly say that my resume improved tenfold after the one-on-one visit, and, without meaning to toot my own horn, I can count on one hand the times that I have not received a call back after submitting my resume.

Without further ado:

  1. Make use of bold, italics, and underlining.  This helps divvy up the monotony.  But, as with the theme consistency, if you italicize a date, italicize all the dates. Or if you bold and italicize a job title, bold and italicize all job titles.
  2.  Use numbers whenever possible when describing your job duties – it gives the company you are applying to a measurement of your impact and contribution.
  3. At the beginning of each bullet point of job description, use an action verb – and for every job description besides your current job, remember to use past tense.  Your current job should start each bullet point with a present tense action verb.
  4. Pinterest is a great resource if you search “resume power words.” These are a great sampling of words to use.  And try not to use the same action verb more than twice.
  5. If you have the job description available for the job you are applying for, plug words and phrases into your resume from the job description. For example, if the job description says “proficient in popular software such as Microsoft Word, PowerPoint, and Excel”, under that office job you had a few years back, make a bullet point that says “Developed my proficiency in popular software with the use of Microsoft Word, PowerPoint, and Excel”

I know this post wasn’t about agriculture, but I am hoping to mix in a little variety and share what I know!

 

Happy job hunting!

❤ Meg

Leave a Reply

